The ‘Eyes’ Have It: Marsha Ambrosius’ ‘Trilling’ Performance on BET Holiday Special

2010/12/13

Toward the finale of “A Very BET Christmas” last night, I was reminded why my senses were left fluttering upon my first listen to Marsha Ambrosius‘ ascending the scale in Floetry’s rendition of  “Butterflies,” written by Ambrosius and covered by Michael Jackson.  My spirit is still shimmering from Ambrosius’ angelic performance of “Christmastime Is Here” on the BET holiday special.

“Christmastime Is Here,” for the younguns among you, is a song written by Lee Mendelson and Vince Guaraldi that was performed by the Vince Guaraldi Trio in the evergreen Peanuts holiday TV special A Charlie Brown Christmas.  Listening to Marsha Ambrosius render “Christmastime Is Here,” with no children’s choir within range of a snowball fight, the song’s magic still managed to transport me to a wondrous state.  Like an enchanted sleigh that can morph its dimensions to ride up and down a spiraling snow-coated mountain, Ambrosius performed deft maneuvers with her voice that left me all goosepimples.  When she sang “Sleigh bells in the air,” trilling in soprano on the last word, she captured the emotional essence of the holiday season.

Marsha Ambrosius and Natalie Stewart were amazing as Floetry.  Now, I can’t wait for Ambrosius’ new solo CD, Late Nights & Early Mornings (J Records), which is due out in January.  Thus far, I’ve heard only one song, “Hope She Cheats on You (With a Basketball Player),” and already I’m sold.  Not only does her voice sound as lush as her surname, but also she knows how to drop an internal rhyme like an insidious slight.

Any songwriter who has the audacity to use Kim Kardashian’s name as a run-of-the-mill action verb in a lyric, as if she plucked the reality TV star out of an underused thesaurus, is worthy of a Grammy Award for Song of the Year.  That “Hope She Cheats on You” is based on a real-life, once-upon-a-time fiery tale makes the multiple metaphors in the lyric “Kim Kardashianed her way up” especially searing.  My favorite symbolism in that lyric, and by no means a sexy image, is the broken-home metaphor branded into Kim Kardashian’s household name.  Curvaceous in physical form and in aural delivery, Ambrosius can turn heads and a phrase sharper than kittenish Kardashian can pivot on stilettos.

The BET Christmas show on December 12 also sparkled with Keri Hilson’s lovely version of “The Christmas Song” (written by Mel Tormé and popularized by Nat “King” Cole) and Ne-Yo’s eggnog-warm vocals on “This Christmas.”  For me, no one but Donny Hathaway (the song’s co-composer) sounds absolutely perfect on “This Christmas.”  Still, Ne-Yo put his own Gen X groove on the soulful carol, right down to his moving, gospel-tinged ad-libs.  Suffice it to say, the brotha’s baaad!   For this music-lover, Ne-Yo conjured up Donell Jones with his inspired tenor — or maybe it’s the ubiquitous, übercool fedora.

The only disappointment on “A Very BET Christmas” (and it pains me to say this because he gave me one heck of an interview back in 1992, the year of his phenomenal solo CD, In the Storm) was Eldra DeBarge.  Po’ lil El just kept on struggling to tread water in the wake left by the powerhouse singers who had preceded him (for instance, Jazmine Sullivan — hello?).  As DeBarge croaked out notes at the beginning of “Silent Night,” his frail performance was abruptly interrupted by the beginning credits of Soul Food and its theme song by Boyz II Men.  Maybe not a silent night but, for El DeBarge, a silenced one.

For those of you who missed last night’s broadcast of “A Very BET Christmas,” you can catch the show Wednesday night.  Check your local listings for the time.


 

Copyright © 2010 By Chantale Reve

2 Responses to “The ‘Eyes’ Have It: Marsha Ambrosius’ ‘Trilling’ Performance on BET Holiday Special”

  1. veraroberts Says:

    I missed the special but it sounds like it was off the chain.

    Major points on this post. I felt I was the only one who knew about Donell Jones. Definitely underrated. Where I Wanna Be is still one of my all-time jams.

    Ne-Yo is a great performer. Sometimes he’s part-Usher, part-MJ, but all soulful nonetheless.

    I loved Marsha since her Floetry days. Yes is one of the most sensual songs I have ever heard without even being a tad explicit. Now that’s sexy. Her new song (the Kim K. one) doesn’t really grow on me. Personally, I think it’s a little silly but I know if I listen to it enough it’ll show up in a story somewhere, lol.

    I love your posts! So articulate and straight to the point. I swear you’re in my mind sometimes!


    • First of all, Ms. Vera: Thank you for commenting on this post. If I’d come up from under a slew of Christmas movies, I would’ve read your comment sooner and could’ve reminded you that “A Very BET Christmas” aired again this evening (probably in the afternoon your time). The show probably will be rebroadcast again; check the BET website so you can set your DVR.

      Second of all, just knowing that sometimes I could be in *your* amazing mind — the same mind that has produced the “dicklicktable” e-book BAD GIRLS — encourages me to keep on writing.

      Hey, y’all, you can purchase BAD GIRLS on Amazon.com, and set ablaze your yuletide nights.

      The alluring photos and tongue-in-cheek (-and-elsewhere) articles on your website got me shopping for latex lingerie in Manhattan, and to that I am forever indebted to your blog-portal to sexual liberation.

      Merci beaucoup, Madame V!

Leave a Reply

